Dancers at the end of time

transhuman

Quite a few books influenced me when I was younger and one that I have never forgotten is the series of books about Dancers at the end of time by Michael Moorcock. The setting is the end of time when the universe has started to collapse in on itself. The inhabitants of this era are immortal decadents, who create flights of fancy using power rings which draw on energy devised and stored by their ancestors millions of years prior.

The original trilogy purports to tell the last love story in human history. One of the characters in the book is Mrs Amelia Underwood, a time traveller from the late 19th century. I just noticed the coincidence that the main character in my first novel, Mutation, is also called Amelia. Perhaps the name resonated in my consciousness all those years (I read the Moorcock novels in the late 1970s!!)

#MillenniumGirl

One response to “Dancers at the end of time

Leave a comment